SUSE Certified Administrator in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 (SCA)

The SUSE Certified Administrator (SCA) in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 certification is for the latest release of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES). Designed for SUSE Linux Enterprise system administrators who have become familiar with the SLES operating system, this certification displays your fundamental knowledge of the Linux operating system and your ability to properly administer SLES 15 at a standard sysadmin level.

Detailed Objectives:

Overview of SUSE Linux Enterprise

  • Flavors of SUSE Linux
  • SLE Maintenance Model
  • YaST

The Linux Filesystem

  • Understand the Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS)
  • Understand the Linux File Types

Work with the Command Line

  • Getting Help at the Command Line
  • Understand the Shell Environment

The Vim Editor

Remote Administration

  • Understand Remote Administration with OpenSSH
  • Understand Remote Administration with VNC

System Initialization

  • Understand the Boot Process
  • Understand the GRUB2 Boot Loader
  • Define and Describe systemd

Process Management

  • Understand Process Administration
  • Understand Background Processes
  • Understand Process Scheduling

Identity and Security

  • Understand User Management
  • Understand Filesystem Permissions
  • Understand Privilege Delegation

Software Management

  • Understand Compiling Software from Source
  • Understand Management of RPM Packages
  • Understand Software Management with Libzypp

Network Management

  • Understand Network Management in SLE
  • Understand Network Management with Wicked
  • Understand firewalldl

Storage Management

  • Understand the Linux I/O Stack
  • Recognize Traditional Linux File Systems
  • Configure Logical Volume Management (LVM)
  • Configure Software RAID
  • Define and Describe BtrFS
  • Understand NFSv4

Administration and Monitoring

  • Understand Time Sync with chrony
  • Configure System Logging
  • Understand Supportconfig


As with all SUSE certifications, course work is not required. You need to pass this certification exam and meet the prerequisites in order to achieve the certification. We highly recommend you study the objectives and prepare for the exam.

Recommended training for this certification


  • Exam Type: Exam is questions based; there are 70 questions
  • Exam Code: sca_sles15 (previously 050-754)
  • Exam Length: You have 90 minutes to complete the exam
  • Scoring: The passing score is 70%
  • Retake Policy: If you do not pass the exam, you must wait 72 hours before you can schedule and take the exam again
  • Cost: $149

Special offer

Update Option

Candidates who currently hold either an SCA or SCE in SUSE Linus Enterprise Server 12 are able to take one update exam to update their certification(s) to version 15. Candidates who have only an SCA will receive an updated SCA in Enterprise Linux 15, and those candidates with an SCE in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 will receive the corresponding version 15 certification. See the link below for the study options and certification requirements.

SLES 12 to 15 Certification Update (SLES-UPDATE)